SuperTalk Mississippi
Featured News Jackson State Latest News Sports

3 Mississippi players named to Black College Football Player of the Year watch list

Alcorn State running back Jarveon Howard had 773 yards and seven touchdowns for the Braves this season (Photo courtesy of Alcorn State)

Three Mississippi players have been named to the watch list for the 2023 Black College Football Player of the Year Award.

Representing Alcorn State are running back Jarveon Howard and offensive lineman T.J. Yarbrough. Howard rushed for 1,270 yards and 12 touchdowns in his first season with the Braves after transferring from Syracuse. Yarbrough anchored a rushing attack that finished fourth in the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) with 175.3 yards per game.

The lone representative from Jackson State is tight end D.J. Stevens. Stevens hauled in 38 receptions for 386 yards and four touchdowns in 2022. He will look to be the second consecutive Tiger to win the award after now-Colorado quarterback Shedeur Sanders won it last season.

Overall, the SWAC had 11 players of the 49 on the watch list. The Black College Football Player of the Year Award has been given out annually since 2016 to the top player from a Historically Black College and University.

Jackson State kicks off the 2023 season on August 26 at South Carolina State. Alcorn State will open a week later on September 2 at Southern Miss.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More