SuperTalk Mississippi
Featured News Latest News Weather

6 Mississippi counties eligible for federal disaster assistance following April storms

Photo from FEMA

Federal assistance is now available for residents affected in six Mississippi counties during an early April round of severe weather.

From April 8-11, heavy rains and high-speed winds hit Hancock, Hinds, Humphreys, Madison, Neshoba, and Scott counties. Over the four days, 13 tornadoes were confirmed with hundreds of homes and buildings being damaged. Two people died during the storms.

On Monday, Gov. Tate Reeves announced that the Federal Emergency Management Agency had opened its Individual Assistance Program to those impacted by the storms. The assistance can include grants for temporary housing, home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover.

Residents in the approved counties who sustained losses during the storms can apply online or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). For those who are hearing and speech impaired, the assistance line is 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor