SuperTalk Mississippi
News Elections Featured News Latest News Politics Trending News

Mississippi representatives respond to creation of a Select Committee to investigate Jan 6th insurrection at the Capitol

Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Chairman of the Committee on Homeland Security, released the following statement after the U.S. House of Representatives passed a resolution to create a Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol (H.Res. 503):   

“House Democrats followed through on our promise to stand up for the integrity of our democracy and ensure that the facts and circumstances of the January 6 attack on the Capitol are fully investigated. For six months, Democrats tried and tried to reach agreement with Republicans on launching an independent, bipartisan investigation into the attack on the citadel of our democracy, but it is now evident that most on the other side of the aisle are unwilling to get at the unvarnished truth of not only why a mob of Americans violently attacked the Capitol but also, why the government failed, at all levels, to stop it. 

“I believe that with the right members, staff, and resources, and cooperation from Federal, State, local partners and the private sector, this select committee will be well-positioned to do vital oversight work into why our information sharing, counter-terrorism, and coordination efforts failed so catastrophically on January 6th. I thank the Republicans who joined us in this bipartisan vote.”

Congressman Michael Guest (MS-03) voted against the resolution to establish a select committee to examine the events of January 6th.

“I am firmly opposing Speaker Pelosi’s Select Committee to ‘investigate’ the events at the U.S. Capitol on January 6th. Speaker Pelosi’s Select Committee is set up to operate more like the partisan impeachment process than a real investigation, and it will only be used to attack the political opponents of the Democratic Party.”

As written, the select committee will be composed of 13 members, all of whom will be selected by Speaker Pelosi, although she will consult with Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy on five of the appointees. The committee is expected to be run almost exclusively by House Democrats, will be given the power of subpoena, and is not bound to a deadline within which to present findings.

Because the resolution establishes a House of Representatives select committee, the resolution does not require Senate approval.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor slot gacor situs togel bo togel situs toto situs toto