SuperTalk Mississippi
Featured News Latest News Politics Trending News

Cyrus Ben officially reelected as chief of Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians

Photo courtesy of the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians/Facebook

Cyrus Ben has been elected to serve his second term as tribal chief of the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.

Voters across six communities cast their ballots on Tuesday, with 215 absentee ballots counted on Wednesday afternoon.

Ben stands atop the results with approximately 62 percent of the votes. The incumbent has served as tribal chief for the past four years after winning the election in 2019.

Phyliss J. Anderson, who was elected the first female elected Chief of the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians in 2011, finished with 34 percent of the counted ballots.

The third candidate for tribal chief, Tarina Kay Anderson, totaled in approximately five percent of the votes.

Here’s the list of candidates in the lead for one of the eight seats on the council:

  • Bogue Chitto – Ronnie Henry, Sr.
  • Bogue Homa – Berdie M. Steve
  • Conehatta – Incumbent Timothy Thomas Sr.
  • Pearl River – Incumbent Nigel Gibson
  • Red Water – Ricky L. Anderson, Sr. and Samuel John
  • Standing Pine – Incumbent Richard Sockey
  • Tucker – Dorothy Bell Wilson

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor slot gacor situs togel bo togel situs toto situs toto SLOT GACOR