SuperTalk Mississippi
News Featured News Latest News

Five additional counties approved for assistance following winter storm

Black Ice

Additional assistance is on the way as communities across the state continue to feel the effects of the February winter storm. 

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved five additional counties for public assistance, bringing the total up to 36 counties along with the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians. The newly added counties include Clay, Holmes, Quitman, Webster, and Wilkinson.

A complete list of counties approved by FEMA for public assistance can be seen below:  

Adams, Attala, Choctaw, Claiborne, Clay, Copiah, Covington, Franklin, Grenada, Hinds, Holmes, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Kemper, Lafayette, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Pike, Quitman, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Tallahatchie, Walthall, Warren, Webster, Wilkinson, Winston and Yazoo and Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.

During the winter storm event, the worst on record since 1994 in Mississippi, the state experienced multiple rounds of winter weather resulting in an estimated $25 million worth of damage to public infrastructure.

According to FEMA, the purpose of the Public Assistance (PA) Grant Program is to support municipalities and counties recovering from major disasters by providing them with grant assistance for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures, and restoring public infrastructure. This assistance is not for homeowners or business owners.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More