SuperTalk Mississippi
Featured News Latest News Politics Weather

Governor requests major disaster declaration for 16 counties impacted by June weather

Photo courtesy of Gov. Reeves/Facebook

Governor Tate Reeves has requested a major disaster declaration for 16 counties impacted by the severe storms, straight-line winds, and tornadoes that swept across the state in mid-June.

Included in the request is individual assistance for Jackson and Jasper Counties. In Jackson County, approximately 380 structures were damaged. Jasper County experienced 72 structures damaged with one person dying and nearly two dozen injured as a result of the storms.

Additionally, it includes a request for public assistance to assist local governments primarily with debris removal in Claiborne, Copiah, Covington, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Leake, Neshoba, Newton, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, and Wayne Counties.

“The state of Mississippi has been working diligently with local and federal partners to assess the damage stemming from these storms,” Reeves said. “This disaster declaration request is the next step forward as we continue to help Mississippians restore, rebuild, and recover. We’ll be here for as long as it takes.”

According to the National Weather Service, Mississippi broke a 49-year-old record for the number of tornadoes in the month of June, when 19 struck the state. 18 of the tornadoes occurred between June 14 and June 19. The previous record was in 1974 when seven tornadoes struck the state in June.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More