SuperTalk Mississippi
Featured News Latest News Trending News

MDE names 11 Mississippi Emerging Science of Reading Schools for 2023-24

Photo from Getty Images

Almost a dozen elementary schools throughout the state have been designated as Mississippi Emerging Science of Reading Schools (SOR) for the 2023-24 school year.

The recognition, which is awarded by the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE), is given to schools that have trained teachers in the science of reading, show a change in instructional practices, and focus on building skillful readers in kindergarten through third grade.

“We applaud these schools for seeking and receiving this designation, which demonstrates their commitment to implementing the science of reading and ensuring their students receive optimal literacy instruction,” Dr. Ray Morgigno, interim state superintendent of education, said. “Such designations support Mississippi remaining a national leader in literacy and continued growth for students.”

All Mississippi K-5 schools are invited annually in the spring to apply for the science of reading recognition.

In total, seven elementary schools received the designation in 2021-22 and seven received the designation in 2022-23. Schools must reapply to retain the designation.

MDE’s Literacy Leadership Team will travel to each campus starting Tuesday, August 8, to celebrate the accomplishment.

Here’s this year’s schedule for celebrating Mississippi’s SORs:

1.  August 8 at 9 a.m. Oak Grove Primary School, Lamar County School District
2. August 8 at 1 p.m. Pass Road Elementary School, Gulfport School District
3. August 9 at 9 a.m. Beach Elementary School, Pascagoula-Gautier School District
4. August 9 at 11 a.m. Jackson Elementary School, Pascagoula-Gautier School District
5. August 9 at 1 p.m. Martin Bluff Elementary, Pascagoula-Gautier School District
6. August 16 at 1 p.m. Waveland Elementary, Bay St. Louis-Waveland School District
7. August 21 at 10 a.m. Jefferson County Elementary School, Jefferson County School District
8. August 22 at 9 a.m. Beechwood Elementary, Vicksburg Warren School District
9. August 22 at 11 a.m. Bovina Elementary, Vicksburg Warren School District
10. August 23 at 1 p.m. Lewisburg Primary, DeSoto County School District
11. August 24 at 9 a.m. Senatobia Elementary School, Senatobia Municipal School District

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More