SuperTalk Mississippi
Featured News Latest News Politics Trending News

Miss. Senators support legislation that prohibits abortions on federal land

Photo courtesy of Senators Roger Wicker/Cindy Hyde Smith's Offices.

On Thursday morning, U.S. Senators Roger Wicker and Cindy Hyde-Smith cosponsored legislation that would prohibit any current or future pro-abortion administrations from being able to use federal lands and facilities for abortion.

The legislation, otherwise known as the “Prohibiting Abortion on Federal Lands Act” (S.4519), would prohibit the federal government from promoting, supporting, or contracting with abortion entities, or otherwise expanding access to abortion on federal lands or facilities including but not limited to military installations, national parks, courthouses, federal buildings, etc.

“The Dobbs decision rightly returned the issue of abortion to the people and their elected representatives, but far-left activists are now working overtime to subvert the will of pro-life voters in states like Mississippi,” Wicker said.  “This important legislation would help protect life and ensure that federal lands are not used to facilitate the abortion business.”

Since the Supreme Court’s overturning of the landmark Roe v. Wade case in June, plans to open “abortion safe havens” on federal land in states where abortion is illegal have been discussed. This legislation aims to prevent the creation of such “safe havens.”

“The point of the Dobbs decision is to allow states to set policies regarding ending a pregnancy. The pro-abortion forces are in a desperate scramble to ensure abortion on demand until birth,” Hyde-Smith said. “The plan to use federal lands and property for abortions is just one effort to circumvent the Supreme Court decision and the spirit of the Hyde Amendment. As such, Senator Rubio’s bill to stop the federal government from promoting abortions using federal holdings has my full support.”

Originally, the legislation was introduced by U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and has since been supported by a total of eight senators. Additional cosponsors include U.S. Senators Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kan.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), and Mike Crapo (R-Idaho).

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More