SuperTalk Mississippi
News Sports

Nominees named for 2021 C Spire Outstanding Player Awards

Photo by News Mississippi

The finalists have been announced for 2021 C Spire Outstanding Player Awards, which will all be presented on May 24th during a virtual ceremony.

Last year’s event was cancelled in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, but now, C Spire and the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame are ready to award the Conerly Trophy (football), Ferris Trophy (baseball), Howell Trophy (men’s basketball) and Gillom Trophy (women’s basketball).

The nominees for each award can be seen below: 

  • Football: Conerly Troply (selected by the schools that played football last fall and this spring): Belhaven running back Brad Foley, Jackson State wide receiver Daylen Baldwin, Millsaps defensive back Christian Roberts, Mississippi College running back Cole Fagan, Mississippi State cornerback Emmanuel Forbes, Mississippi Valley State defensive end-linebacker Jerry Garner, Ole Miss wide receiver Elijah Moore and Southern Miss offensive lineman Arvin Fletcher.
  • Men’s basketball: Howell Trophy (selected by statewide media) Jackson State guard Tristan Jarrett. Mississippi State guard D.J. Stewart Jr. and Ole Miss guard Devontae Shuler
  • Women’s basketball: Gillom Trophy (selected by statewide media) Jackson State center Ameysha Williams and guard Dayzsha Rogan and Ole Miss forward Shakira Austin.
  • Baseball: Ferriss Trophy (selected by Major League Baseball professional scouts and coaches): Mississippi State outfielder Tanner Allen and pitcher Landon Sims and Ole Miss outfielder Kevin Graham and pitchers Gunner Hoglund and Doug Nikhazy.

The awards are named after some Mississippi sports legends, including former college and NFL star Charlie Conerly, Boston Celtics basketball great Bailey Howell, Ole Miss’ best all-round women’s basketball player Peggy Gillom-Granderson and long-time coach and former college and Major League Baseball star Dave “Boo” Ferriss. All four have had storied college and professional careers in football, baseball and basketball.

“College sports is very popular in Mississippi and we want to make sure that players and schools get the recognition they deserve and honor their achievements on the gridiron, on the basketball court and baseball diamond,” Jim Richmond, vice president of Marketing for C Spire, said. 

Fans can watch the program online at CBS NFL television analyst Charles Davis will be the special master of ceremonies.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor