SuperTalk Mississippi
Featured News Latest News Mississippi State Ole Miss Sports

Ole Miss, Mississippi State women’s basketball players earn All-SEC honors

Angel Baker led Ole Miss in both scoring and assists during the 2022-23 regular season (Photo courtesy of UM Athletics)

The Southeastern Conference has announced its 2023 women’s basketball postseason awards with multiple Rebels and Bulldogs receiving honors.

Angel Baker of Ole Miss (22-7, 11-5 SEC) was named first-team All-SEC after leading the Rebels in both points (15.0) and assists (2.7) per game. Baker, a junior guard, notched 21 games in double-figures this season on the way to becoming the fourth Rebel to surpass 2,000 career points.

Joining Baker on the All-SEC team was junior forward Madison Scott. Scott earned second-team honors after averaging 11.6 points and a team-high 8.3 rebounds during the regular season. She was also named the conference’s Defensive Player of the Year, holding down the paint with at least one block and one steal per game.

For Mississippi State (20-9, 9-7 SEC), Jessika Carter earned second-team All-SEC and SEC All-Defensive team honors. Carter, a senior forward, led the Bulldogs in points (14.8), rebounds (7.8), and blocks (2.2) per game. She was one of just two SEC players to finish top 15 in scoring, rebounding, and blocked shots this season.

Mississippi State’s Debreasha Powe was named to the SEC All-Freshman team after a strong freshman campaign, in which she averaged 8.4 points, 5.0 rebounds, and 1.0 assists per game. Powe finished top five amongst freshman in the conference in both scoring and rebounding.

The full list of SEC awards can be found below.

First-Team All-SEC

Brittany Davis, Alabama

Alexis Morris, LSU

Angel Reese, LSU

Angel Baker, Ole Miss

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Zia Cooke, South Carolina

Jordan Horston, Tennessee

Rickea Jackson, Tennessee


Second-Team All-SEC

Erynn Barnum, Arkansas

Aicha Coulibaly, Auburn

Diamond Battles, Georgia

Madison Scott, Ole Miss

Jessika Carter, Mississippi State

Hayley Frank, Missouri

Kamilla Cardoso, South Carolina

Ciaja Harbison, Vanderbilt



Saylor Poffenbarger, Arkansas

Flau’jae Johnson, LSU

Sa’Myah Smith, LSU

Debreasha Powe, Mississippi State

Ashton Judd, Missouri

Raven Johnson, South Carolina

Janiah Barker, Texas A&M

Sydney Bowles, Texas A&M



Diamond Battles, Georgia

Angel Reese, LSU

Madison Scott, Ole Miss

Jessika Carter, Mississippi State

Brea Beal, South Carolina

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Finalists for Gillom, Howell Trophies announced

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More