SuperTalk Mississippi
News Weather

President declares eight counties as federal disaster areas

Courtesy of TeleSouth Communications

President Donald Trump has declared Clarke, Clay, Itawamba, Kemper, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Warren, and Yazoo Counties as federal disaster areas. The President signed the declaration on Thursday, June 20th in response to the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, and flooding that impacted Mississippi on April 13th and 14th.

The eight counties are eligible for Public Assistance, which is reimbursement grants to local governments and non-profit organizations for things like damage to infrastructure, debris removal, and overtime to responders. However, the State DID NOT surpass the criteria required for Individual Assistance, which is federal assistance to individuals and households.

“I am grateful to President Trump and his administration for its approval of our request,” said Governor Bryant. “This declaration will help these counties in rebuilding their infrastructure that is still significantly damaged”.

This now brings the total number of Presidential disaster declarations in 2019 to three. In addition to the latest declaration, Mississippi has been approved statewide for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which is for measures/actions taken that reduce or eliminate long term risk to people and property from natural hazards.

“More counties could be added to the declaration at a later date”, says MEMA Executive Director Greg Michel.  However, those counties can only be requested for addition if warranted by the results of the counties damage assessments.”

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More