A new school year has arrived, and that means school buses will be back out on the roads.
With buses heading out on their routes to pick up students in the morning and to drop them off in the afternoon, the Mississippi Highway Patrol is reminding you to pay special attention as they come to a stop.
As part of Nathan’s Law, passed by the legislature in 2011, running a school bus stop sign could result in fines of up to $750 for a first offense, and a second offense could land you in jail for up to a year.
Schools across the state are starting back this week. We encourage drivers to pay attention to schools buses. Running a school bus stop sign can carry a fine up to 750 dollars for the first offense or jail time for the second ! #NathansLaw #donttextanddrive pic.twitter.com/AIKm89wR6D
— MHP BILOXI (@MHPTroopK) August 5, 2019
A second offense could also lead the suspension of your driver’s license. The law also states that when a school bus comes to stop, drivers must be at least 10 feet behind them.
Nathan’s Law is named in honor of 5-year-old Nathan Key, who was struck and killed by a car that illegally ran a school bus stop sign in December 2009.
Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here.
Copyright 2023 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.