SuperTalk Mississippi

U.S. House impeaches President Trump after Capitol riot

Photo by News Mississippi

For the second time, the U.S. House of Representatives has impeached President Donald Trump. 

One week after a deadly riot occurred within the walls of the Capitol in D.C., the House voted 232-197 to impeach the president on the grounds of inciting the insurrection that left five people, including a Capitol police officer, dead and others injured. All House Democrats along with 10 Republicans voted to remove the president from office. 

Congressman Bennie Thompson, the lone Democratic member of Mississippi’s delegation, supported the impeachment effort while Republican Congressmen Trent Kelly, Michael Guest and Steven Palazzo voted against it. 

The Republican-controlled Senate voted to acquit the president during his first impeachment trial back in February 2020, but several GOP members have indicated their support for impeachment to this point. Mississippi Senators Roger Wicker and Cindy Hyde-Smith have opposed the impeachment proceedings.

Regardless of the outcome of this trial, President-elect Joe Biden will be inaugurated as the 46th President next Wednesday.

Trump becomes the first president to be impeached twice and according to Fox News, the only other double impeachment of a government official occurred in 1798 when Tennessee Senator William Blount was impeached.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More