SuperTalk Mississippi

USM’s Abraham named finalist for ‘Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award’

Photo courtesy of USM Athletics
Photo courtesy of USM Athletics

Southern Miss QB Jack Abraham has been named as a finalist for a prestigious award. 

The junior from Oxford is one of 20 finalists for the 2019 ‘Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award’, which is awarded based on player performance both on-and-off the field. Through the first six weeks of the 2019 season, Abraham ranks 14th in the country with 1,515 yards. Coming up this weekend, USM will host North Texas. The Mean Green are led by QB Mason Fine, who is also a finalist for the award. 

The Top 20 candidates include:

  • Jack Abraham, Southern Miss
  • Ian Book, Notre Dame
  • Anthony Brown, Boston College
  • Kelly Bryant, Missouri
  • Joe Burrow, LSU
  • Jacob Eason, University of Washington
  • Caleb Evans, Louisiana Monroe
  • Mason Fine, North Texas
  • Quentin Harris, Duke
  • Justin Herbert, Oregon
  • Tyler Huntley, Utah
  • Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma
  • Brian Lewerke, Michigan State
  • Cole McDonald, Hawaii
  • Steven Montez, Colorado
  • Shea Patterson, Michigan
  • Bryce Perkins, Virginia
  • Nate Stanley, Iowa
  • Zach Thomas, Appalachian State
  • Brady White, Memphis

Giving life to the commitment to give back, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and presenting sponsor A. O. Smith continues to promote football on all levels by providing financial aid to deserving young scholar-athletes. A. O. Smith is committed to creating innovative solutions that set new standards for their industry, just like Unitas did in football.

Proceeds donated to the Golden Arm Award help support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, which provides assistance to underprivileged and deserving student-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky.

The 2019 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® presented by A. O. Smith will be presented on Wednesday, December 11th, in Baltimore, Maryland.

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® presented by A. O. Smith include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011); Marcus Mariota (University of Oregon, 2014); Connor Cook (Michigan State, 2015); Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2016), 2017 winner, Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State) and last year’s winner Gardner Minshew, II (Washington State).

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor slot gacor situs togel bo togel situs toto situs toto SLOT GACOR