SuperTalk Mississippi
Featured News Jackson State Latest News Mississippi State Ole Miss Southern Miss Sports

2023 Ferriss Trophy finalists announced

Southern Miss RHP Tanner Hall (middle) will have a chance to repeat as winner of the Ferriss Trophy, given out annually to the state's top college baseball player (Photo courtesy of MS Sports Hall of Fame)

As college baseball’s regular season is coming to a close, the finalists for the 2023 Ferriss Trophy have been announced.

Chosen by Major League Baseball scouts and college baseball coaches in Mississippi, the five finalists for the trophy presented to Mississippi’s top college baseball player each year include players from Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Southern Miss, and Jackson State.

  • OF Kemp Alderman, Ole Miss
  • RHP Tanner Hall, Southern Miss
  • INF Ty Hill, Jackson State
  • INF/OF Hunter Hines, Mississippi State
  • DH Slade Wilkes, Southern Miss

The Ferriss trophy, named after Mississippi baseball legend Dave “Boo” Ferriss, will be presented during a luncheon on Monday, May 22 at the Golden Moon Casino at Pearl River Resort.

The luncheon is open to the public, but tickets must be purchased in advance by clicking here, or by calling the MSHOF offices at (601)982-8264.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More