SuperTalk Mississippi
Latest News Lifestyle

7 Mississippi high school seniors in running for U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

Photo from Getty Images

Seven Mississippi students are in the running to be recognized by a program that honors the nation’s most distinguished high school seniors.

The Mississippi Department of Education announced on Tuesday that the following students have been named 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars semifinalists:

  • Charles Frugé (Oxford High School)
  • Omair Jamil (DeSoto Central High School)
  • Noah Lee (Mississippi School for Mathematics & Science)
  • Payton Sanders (Pelahatchie Attendance Center)
  • Sydney Smith (Hattiesburg High School)
  • Kayla Truong (Northwest Rankin High School)
  • Iris Xue (Mississippi School for Mathematics & Science)

Mississippi’s semifinalists were selected from among thousands of candidates nationwide. The semifinalists form the pool of up to 161 students that will be chosen as a 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholar.

The 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be announced in early May. Scholars are chosen based on accomplishments in academic and artistic success, career and technical fields, leadership, and involvement in school and the community. The scholars represent excellence in education and the promise of greatness in America’s young people.

Created in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program honors the nation’s top-performing students with the prestigious award given to honorees during the annual ceremony in Washington D.C. The program was later expanded to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the arts and career and technical education fields.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More