SuperTalk Mississippi
Elections Featured News Latest News Politics

Berlin beats Hodge in Jones County to highlight slate of Mississippi sheriff races

Photo courtesy of JCSD

In one of the biggest local races of the night, Joe Berlin has retained his position as sheriff in Jones County.

Berlin, who was first elected in 2019, attained 33% of the vote to beat out a busy field of Alex Hodge (31%), Macon Davis (24%), and Kenny Rogers (12%). Hodge, who previously served as sheriff from 2008-2020, conceded to Berlin on Wednesday morning.

“We did not win this race, but we did run it faithful and true,” Hodge said in a statement, adding that he called Berlin to commend him on the victory. “We are thankful beyond measure for the wonderful moments we shared on this very special campaign journey over the last year. We appreciate every supporter we’ve encountered along the way. To God be the glory.”

Berlin, formerly with the Laurel Police Department, ran his campaign based on accomplishments seen during his first four years in office such as staying under budget and creating a domestic violence program for victims.

“I would like to take this opportunity to tell the citizens of Jones County the accomplishments of the last four years,” Berlin said in a video statement on Election Day. “I am not a proven professional politician. I’m just an average Joe for the people.”

Other sheriff races worth noting
  • While Republican candidates in Harrison and DeSoto counties had no opponents in the general election, Hinds County Sheriff Tyree Jones did as the incumbent cruised past Reginald Thompson with over 88% of the vote as of Wednesday morning.
  • Jacob Lamar Garner, who defeated incumbent Mitch Nobles in the Republican primary, will take over the position of Perry County sheriff after doubling the votes of independent challenger Robert McSwain.
  • Lamar County Sheriff Danny Rigel (52%) narrowly ousted challenger James Murray (48%) to win a second term.
  • Todd Stewart is the new sheriff in Stone County after being named the winner over Kevin J. Stubbs and Jonathan Johnson. Stewart takes over for Mike Farmer, who will be retiring after his term ends.
  • Lee County Sheriff Jim Johnson, a Republican, is heading to a sixth term after handling independent opponent Anthony “Tony” Rogers.
  • Incumbent Republican Steve Johnson was reelected to a fifth term as Lincoln County sheriff with nearly 50% of the vote.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More