SuperTalk Mississippi
Featured News Latest News Trending News

FEMA approves request for Madison County to receive assistance following June tornadoes

Moss Point
Tornado damage at Moss Point High School (Photo courtesy of Jalesa Borden, MPSD)

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved Mississippi’s request for an additional county to receive public assistance following June tornadoes and severe storms.

From June 14-19, Mississippi experienced a record-breaking 18 tornadoes across the state, leaving a total of 28 counties and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians to be eligible for federal public assistance.

Now, FEMA has announced that certain entities in Madison County are now able to receive funding for FEMA Disaster 4727.

The funds are available to local governments and eligible private non-profit agencies to assist in emergency work costs and repairing or replacing disaster-damaged facilities.

FEMA has released that the following counties are currently able to apply:

  • Adams
  • Amite
  • Attala
  • Claiborne
  • Copiah
  • Covington
  • Franklin
  • Greene
  • Holmes
  • Humphreys
  • Itawamba
  • Jackson
  • Jasper
  • Jefferson
  • Jefferson Davis
  • Jones
  • Lawrence
  • Leake
  • Madison
  • Neshoba
  • Newton
  • Perry
  • Rankin
  • Scott
  • Simpson
  • Smith
  • Warren
  • Wayne
  • Yazoo
  • Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.

The purpose of the Public Assistance (PA) Grant Program is to support municipalities and counties recovering from major disasters by providing them with grant assistance for debris removal, life-saving emergency protective measures, and restoring public infrastructure.

The assistance is not for homeowners or business owners.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More