SuperTalk Mississippi
News Politics

Flag Commission set to hold first meeting Wednesday morning

Photo Courtesy: Bailey Martin

The commission tasked with designing a proposal for the new Mississippi state flag will hold its first meeting on Wednesday.  

While the ‘Flag Commission’ will come together tomorrow morning, it remains incomplete with just six members. While Lt. Governor Delbert Hosemann and Speaker of the House Philip Gunn each announced their three appointees ahead of last week’s deadline, Governor Tate Reeves has yet to announce his selections. 

The current members of the commission include Oxford Mayor Robyn Tannehill, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College President Dr. Mary Graham, TJ Taylor, Former Justice Reuben Anderson, Mack Varner & Sherri Carr Bevis. 

The bill that retired the former state flag also included two stipulations for the new design – it cannot feature the Confederate battle emblem and it must include the motto “In God We Trust.”

To find out how to submit your designs to the commission, click here.

When tomorrow’s meeting begins at 10 a.m., the commission will have 54 days until a proposal must be submitted to the Secretary of State’s office with a September 14th deadline. The design will then be placed on the ballot ahead of November 3rd’s election. 

If the design doesn’t receive a majority of the vote, a new design would be submitted during the 2021 legislative session.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor slot gacor situs togel bo togel situs toto situs toto