SuperTalk Mississippi

President Trump approves Mississippi’s emergency disaster request

Radar Image Courtesy of National Hurricane Center
Radar Image Courtesy of National Hurricane Center

President Trump has approved an emergency disaster declaration for Mississippi.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that assistance has been made available to Mississippi as the state prepares for the potential impact of Hurricane Delta.

FEMA provided the following breakdown of the declaration.

Federal funding is available to the state, eligible tribal and local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance for Hancock, Harrison and Wilkinson counties.

Public Assistance Category B emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance, will be provided for Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Copiah, Forrest, Franklin, George, Hinds, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Pearl River, Pike, Rankin, Sharkey, Simpson, Stone, Walthall, Warren, and Yazoo counties.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further evaluation.

Hurricane Delta is projected to make landfall along the Louisiana coast on Friday afternoon before bringing potential storm surges, heavy rainfall and tornados to portions of Mississippi.

Below, you can watch Governor Tate Reeves and MEMA’s afternoon briefing on the storm:

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor slot gacor situs togel bo togel situs toto situs toto