SuperTalk Mississippi

Trump approves disaster declaration for Mississippi

Photo by News Mississippi

To add on to the coronavirus, Mississippi has been hit with a handful of severe storms and tornados within the last few months, but luckily, federal aid is heading to the Magnolia State.

On Thursday, President Donald Trump approved Mississippi’s disaster declaration for FEMA Disaster 4551, which took place on April 22nd and 23rd. The detrimental weather caused over $8 million in damage.

The counties eligible for the funding are Amite, Claiborne, Covington, George, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lawrence, Pike, Simpson, Smith, and Wayne.

On Thursday, Governor Tate Reeves went to Twitter to thank the President.

With this declaration, there are now 16 active major disaster declarations in Mississippi. Of the 16, five were declared during the 2020 calendar year.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More