SuperTalk Mississippi

Federal Disaster Request approved for 16 Mississippi counties

Courtesy of MEMA
Courtesy of MEMA

16 Mississippi counties will receive relief following the devastation caused by  Tropical Storm Olga in October. 

On Friday, Governor Bryant announced that President Donald Trump declared 16 counties eligible for Public Assistance under Federal Disaster Number 4470. This disaster declaration is in response to the Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, and Flooding that occurred due to Tropical Storm Olga on October 26.

Related: Delegation in D.C. requests federal assistance following October storms

The counties eligible for assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are Alcorn, Covington, Itawamba, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Leake, Lee, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Scott, Simpson, Smith, and Tippah. 

Public Assistance is a supplemental cost reimbursement grant program that assists in the restoration of community infrastructure. The Public Assistance categories are as follows:

  • Category A: Debris Removal.
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.
  • Category C: Roads and Bridges.
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities.
  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment.
  • Category F: Utilities.
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities, and Other Items.

This declaration is the fourth federal disaster in Mississippi this year.

Mississippi is also approved statewide for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. This program is for measures/actions taken that reduce or eliminate long term risk to people and property from natural hazards.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

slot gacor rtp live slot gacor situs toto situs togel slot gacor