SuperTalk Mississippi

Ole Miss Chancellor Search Continues

Photo courtesy of Telesouth Communications Inc.

The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) gathered this morning regarding the Ole Miss Chancellor search. Soon after the meeting began, the board voted to go into executive session to discuss personnel matters, thus closing the meeting to anyone not a member of the board.

Reports say candidates for the Chancellor position are being interviewed today, but no official candidate’s name has been publicly released.

Former Chancellor Jeffrey Vitter resigned in January, but continued to serve as a tenured professor.   Larry D. Sparks, University of Mississippi’s Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance, was named as Interim Chancellor, effective January 4th.

Read More

The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning has selected 39 members, representing a cross-section of the University of Mississippi campus community, to serve on the Campus Search Advisory Committee. Dr. Charles Hussey, Alumnus, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, and alumna Robyn Tannehill, Mayor of Oxford, will serve as Co-Chairs of the Committee.

Listening sessions were held in early September to gain input from University of Mississippi stakeholders on the qualities and qualifications they believe the next Chancellor should possess.

Members of the University of Mississippi community were also able to provide feedback through an online survey.

While many rumors of potential candidates are circulating, no official list of candidates has been released by IHL to the public.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More