SuperTalk Mississippi

Trip to NYC from Mississippi now includes 14-day self-quarantine

Photo by News Mississippi

Mississippians planning on traveling to the tri-state area need to be aware of a new COVID-19-related travel advisory.  

According to an announcement from New York Governor Andrew Cuomo, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy & Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont, Mississippi has been added to a growing list of states from which visitors must self-quarantine for 14-days.

“The quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average,” according to Gov. Cuomo’s Office.

Below, you’ll find the full list of states included in the advisory:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

According to the NJ announcement, the self-quarantine is voluntary, but compliance is expected. Travelers and residents returning from impacted states typically will not need to check-in with public health officials, unless otherwise they are involved in contract tracing efforts or required to do so by their employer or any other federal, state or local law or order. It is expected that individuals will follow the recommendation to self-quarantine.

Stay up to date with all of Mississippi’s latest news by signing up for our free newsletter here

Copyright 2024 SuperTalk Mississippi Media. All rights reserved.

Related posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More